Handgun Safety Training Corporation Firearms/Defensive Tactics Training Academy

Texas Handgun License
(License To Carry) FAQ's

Application Questions

Handgun Safety Training Corporation provides all training material, application material and assistance in completing the application, necessary for an individual to apply for a concealed handgun license. In addition, photographs and notarization services are provided, free of charge.

How do I get a concealed handgun license application?
Handgun Safety Training Corporation provides all application materials to each student.

Once I submit my application, when should I expect to receive my license?
The Department will make every effort to issue your license with 60 days of receiving the completed application packet, or inform you that you did not meet the eligibility criteria.

How long will my license be valid?
Initial licenses are valid for four years and will expire on your birthday. Renewal licenses are valid for five years. The license will remain valid as long as you continue to meet all the eligibility criteria.


Special Conditions

Handgun Safety Training Corporation provides discounts for all our concealed handgun classes based upon the number of individual in a group wishing to attend our training course.

What type of information do I need to supply, if I am applying under a special condition?
Active military personnel, including active reservists, need to provide a copy of your military identification and your most current leave & earnings statement.

Retired military personnel or veterans need to provide a copy of your retired military credentials and a copy of you DD-214 that shows the type of discharged you received.

Out-of-state residents need to provide a color copy, front and back, of your state issued identification or driver's license.


Updating Information

Handgun Safety Training Corporation provides excellent service after the sale. We will assist any student needing with any questions, issues and forms necessary to ensure that they are comfortable carrying their concealed handgun and following all the state laws.

Will changing or updating the address on my driver's license update or change the address on my concealed handgun license?
No. Updating the address on your driver's license does not update or change the address on your concealed handgun license. You must update or change your address with the Concealed Handgun Licensing Bureau. You may change your address online at http://www.txdps.state.tx.us or you may download a Request for Duplicate Concealed Handgun License and Change of Name or Address form, under the downloadable forms link on the Concealed Handgun License (CHL) website. You may also send a letter including your full name, CHL number, old address and new address and a cashier's check, money order or personal check for $25 to the Texas Department of Public Safety, Concealed Handgun Licensing Bureau, P.O. Box 15888, Austin, Texas 78761-5888.


Reciprocity Questions

A list of all states that Texas has reciprocity agreements with is available in the training manual that each student receives for attending our training course.

If I am licensed in Texas, can I carry my concealed handgun in another state?
Your Texas Concealed Handgun License doesn't allow you to carry a handgun in another state, unless that state recognizes Texas licenses. Contact the state you will be entering to find out if it recognizes Texas Concealed Handgun Licenses.

If I have a Texas Concealed Handgun License and I am traveling to another state that we have a reciprocal agreement with, what are my responsibilities?
If you are in another state that has reciprocity with Texas you must follow that state's law for carrying a concealed handgun. The responsibility applies to anyone from that state when traveling in Texas; they must follow the Texas laws for carrying a concealed handgun. Most states will have a website for their concealed carry licenses or permits that will update you on their laws. Alternatively, you may call the other state and ask what their laws are for carrying a concealed handgun while in that state.


Eligibility Questions

Handgun Safety Training Corporation is fully qualified to assist in determining if an individual is qualified to obtain a concealed handgun license (based solely upon information provided by the potential applicant).

If I am a legal resident alien, can I get a license?
Under Federal Law, aliens who have been admitted to the U.S. under a non-immigrant visa, usually are not qualified to purchase a handgun and therefore, do not qualify for a license. However, as long as you were not admitted under a non-immigrant visa and are a legal resident of Texas, you may qualify.

If I am in the military and was just transferred here, can I get a concealed handgun license?
Military personnel now stationed in Texas, just like civilians, may obtain a concealed handgun license as soon as they arrive. It is no longer required that the individual reside in Texas for six months prior to applying.

If I am only 20 years old, can I take the proficiency class and still get a license when I turn 21?
No. It is best not to take the course more than six months before your 21st birthday so that your proficiency certificate is current. Your application may not be turned in to the DPS until your 21st birthday.

What are the requirements for obtaining a license?
The concealed handgun law sets out the eligibility criteria that must be met. Your application packet will list them in detail. For example, you must be qualified to purchase a handgun under all state and federal laws. A number of factors may make you ineligible to obtain a license, such as: felony convictions and some misdemeanor convictions, including charges that resulted in probation or deferred adjudication; pending criminal charges; chemical or alcohol dependency; certain types of psychological diagnoses, protective or restraining order and defaults on state or city taxes, government fees or child support.

How much will fingerprinting cost?
The Legislature has authorized law enforcement agencies to charge $10 for this service. The DPS is among the agencies charging this fee. The charge for electronic fingerprints at L1 Identity Solutions is $9.95.


Disqualifying Factors

Handgun Safety Training Corporation is fully qualified to assist in determining if an individual is qualified to obtain a concealed handgun license (based solely upon information provided by the potential applicant).

If I was convicted of DWI two years ago, can I still get a concealed handgun license?
No. DWI is classified as at least a Class B misdemeanor, and you are ineligible for a license for five years after a conviction for a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or disorderly conduct. This includes cases that were dismissed after you completed probation or deferred jurisdiction. If you have been convicted of two or more alcohol or drug-related offenses within the last 10 years, you may be ineligible.

I was arrested 4 years ago for unlawfully carrying a weapon (UCW) and the judge gave me deferred adjudication. Is this considered a conviction even though the charges eventually were dismissed?
Yes. The concealed handgun law states that deferred adjudication will be treated as a conviction.

Do you have to meet all the federal Brady Law requirements to get a license in Texas?
Yes. Texas law requires you meet all state and federal laws regarding handgun possession.

I was placed on deferred adjudication more than 10 years ago for Burglary of a Habitation, am I eligible for a concealed handgun license?
No. Effective September 1, 2009, Burglary of a Habitation under Section 30.02, Texas Penal Code, is now an offense that is permanently disqualifying under 411.1711, Texas Government Code.

If I was arrested for a crime but the charges were dismissed, will my application be rejected?
No. Dismissals will not be grounds for denial, as long as you were not placed on probation or deferred adjudication prior to the dismissal.

Should I list all arrests on my application, even if the cases were dismissed or I was found not guilty?
Yes. If your criminal history background check indicates an arrest but does not reveal a final disposition, DPS might have to check local records, which is time consuming and could significantly delay your application. Attaching copies of the dispositions will help DPS process your application more quickly. Include information on cases that resulted in probation or deferred adjudication.


Training Requirements

Handgun Safety Training Corporation conducts its concealed handgun license training course in a 1-day, 12-hour course, designed to allow applicants to efficiently complete the required training.

I have heard that I will have to take a special class to get a license. Is that true?
Yes. You must take a 10 - 15 hour class, taught by a DPS-certified instructor to obtain your concealed handgun license.

My license is about to expire, do I have to sit through that 10 hour class again?
No. As long as your license has not been expired for more than 1 year, you need only complete a 4 - 6 hour class to renew your license.


Do's and Don'ts of Carrying a Concealed Weapon

My concealed handgun license has expired, and my renewal application is in process. Can I carry a concealed handgun while I am waiting to receive my new license?
No. You must have a valid license in your possession to carry a concealed handgun on or about your person outside the confines of your home and vehicle. However, the exception to this answer is the concealed handgun may be carried in your vehicle as long as you comply with the requirements of Section 46.02, Texas Penal Code.

Can I carry a handgun in my personal vehicle without a permit?
Yes. Section 46.02, Texas Penal Code, was amended to allow a person to carry a handgun in a motor vehicle that is owned by the person or under his/her control. The weapon must not be in plain view, and the person must not be engaged in criminal activity other than a Class C misdemeanor that is a violation of a law or ordinance regulating traffic. Finally, a person carrying a handgun in his/her car must not be prohibited by law from possessing a firearm and the person cannot be a member of a criminal street gang as defined in Section 71.01.

Can I carry my handgun to a shooting range without a license?
Yes. You may carry a handgun in your car, as long as you comply with Section 46.02, Texas Penal Code.




Copyright 1997 - 2017 Handgun Safety Training Corporation | Firearms/Defensive Tactics Training Academy | 7970 Fredericksburg Road, Suite 101-274 | San Antonio, Texas 78229


Home


Mission Statement


Instructors / Staff


Adjunct Instructors


Civilian Firearms Training Courses


CHL Training Information (FAQs)


Security / Law Enforcement Training Courses


Security Officer Training Information (FAQs)


Training Schedule


Course Registration


Merchandise


Photo Gallery


Published Articles


Contact Us


Links