Handgun Safety Training Corporation Firearms/Defensive Tactics Training Academy

Commissioned Security Officer (FAQ's)

Licensing Questions

How long does it take to get my license?
Individual licenses take approximately 4 - 6 weeks. The time varies due to the following reasons: incomplete application, missing fingerprint cards, inappropriate fees submitted or missing training certificate.

How often does my license expire?
An individual license expires every two (2) years from the date of issuance. A Personal Protection Officer license will expire on the same date as a Commissioned Security Officer license.

Do I need to be employed by a licensed security company in order to apply for an original license or renew my current license and/or registration?
Yes. You must be employed by a licensed private security company before you can receive your license and/or registration.

How do I process a renewal license/registration that has expired?
If the license/registration has been expired for less than one year and the individual has changed employers, the new employer must submit the following form; PSB-14 (Employee Information Update), the $17.00 update fee and, PSB-17 (Individual Renewal), the appropriate renewal fee, late fee and subscription fee.

If the license/registration has been expired more than six months, the current employer must also submit two (2) fingerprint cards and the $25.00 FBI fee.

If the license/registration has been expired for more than one year, the current employer must submit an original application, 2 fingerprint cards, the appropriate registration fee, the FBI fee and the subscription fee

How do I get a duplicate pocket card/license?
You must complete and submit form PSB-37 (Request for Duplicate License) along with the $10.00 statutory fee.

How do I file a complaint against an employer or contractor?
You must complete and submit form PSB-22 (Complaint Form) and fax it to (512) 424-7729 or mail it to Texas Department of Public Safety, P.O. Box 4087, Austin, Texas 78773. This form is available on the PSB website at http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/psb/forms/

How do I get copies of my paperwork, certificates, files etc.?
You must submit a detailed request in writing to the Open Records Coordinator and fax this information to (512) 424-7728 or mail to Texas Department of Public Safety, P.O. Box 4087, Austin, Texas 78773

Criminal History Questions

What are the qualifications for a license with regard to criminal history?
Applicants are encouraged to review the eligibility criteria in Section 1702.113 of the Private Security Act, and Board Administrative Rules 35.42 through 35.46 (and all other provisions applicable to the specific license being sought). These can be found at the link for "Statutes and Rules", http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/psb/statutuesandrules.htm.

Will I meet the eligibility requirements if I have been granted deferred adjudication probation?
You may meet the eligibility requirements if you have successfully completed deferred adjudication probation. You are ineligible if you have not yet completed deferred adjudication probation.

Will I meet the eligibility requirements if I successfully completed probation, received a conviction set aside and had the charges dismissed?
No. A conviction "set-aside" and subsequent dismissal of the charges remains a conviction under Section 1702.371 of the Occupations Code.

What happens if I fail to surrender my license following notification of my suspension or revocation?
Failure to comply is a Class A misdemeanor. If arrested and convicted, you will be disqualified until the 20th anniversary of your conviction.

My Commissioned Security Officer license has been summarily suspended, revoked or denied. May I work as a Non-Commissioned Security Officer?
No. Summary actions based on disqualifying criminal histories, and the same criminal history criteria apply to all licenses/registrations under the Private Security Act.

Do I need to submit court documents if I have ever been arrested for a felony, Class A or Class B misdemeanor, when applying for an original application for a license/registration?
Yes. We will need such documents in order to verify the disposition of the case. When submitting your original application, please attach your supporting court documents if you answered "yes" to having been arrested for a felony, Class A or Class B misdemeanor.



Copyright 1997 - 2017 Handgun Safety Training Corporation | Firearms/Defensive Tactics Training Academy | 7970 Fredericksburg Road, Suite 101-274 | San Antonio, Texas 78229



Home


Mission Statement


Instructors / Staff


Adjunct Instructors


Civilian Firearms Training Courses


CHL Training Information (FAQs)


Security / Law Enforcement Training Courses


Security Officer Training Information (FAQs)


Training Schedule


Course Registration


Merchandise


Photo Gallery


Published Articles


Contact Us


Links